247 Magazine
No Comments


Decrease Font Size Increase Font Size Text Size Print This Page

The 7th annual UK Surf Awards in association with UK Pro Surf Tour took place last Sunday (14th November), at Fistral Blu, Fistral Beach in Newquay. Surfers, media and industry professionals alike sat down to a sumptuous three course meal before heading downstairs to the beach bar to watch Nick Williams unveil the winners of the 2010 Surf Awards. These awards celebrated British surfing in 2010 in a variety of different categories.

The winners following categories were:
 1.    Saltrock Rookie of the Year 2010 – Winner Gordon Fontaine (France)
2.    Wavelength Most Promising Junior 2010 – Winner Harry DeRoth (St Ives)
3.    Carve Aerialist 2010 Winner – Winner Oli Adams (Newquay)
4.    Surf Girl Most Up and Coming Female Surfer 2010 – Winner Tassy Swallow (St Ives)
5.    Surfersvillage Most Improved Surfer 2010 – Winner Stuart Campbell (Woolacombe)
6.    Gul Best English Surfer 2010 – Winner Russell Winter (Newquay)
7.    Gul Best Welsh Surfer 2010 – Winner Mark Vaughan (Llantwit)
8.    Gul Best Scottish Surfer 2010 – Winner George Watts (Frazerburgh)
9.    King Of Watersports King Of The Wave Award  2010 – Winner Russell Winter (Newquay)
10. Animal Commitment Award 2010 – Winner Simon Trebilcock (St Ives)
11. Relentless Money Move 2010 – Winner Andrew Griffin (Newquay)
12. Dirty Dog Surfers Choice Award 2010 – Winner Mark Harris (Newquay)
13. UKPSA Services to the Sport of Surfing 2010 – Winner Nick Williams (Newquay)
14. Ignite UKPSA Best Surf Judge 2010 – Winner Mike Durkin (Newquay)
15. Christian Surfers Sportsman Award 2010 – Winner Johnny Fryer (IOW)
16. Pitpilot Man on A Mission Award 2010 – Winner Mitch Corbit (Newquay)
17. A1 Most Inspirational Surfer 2010 – Winner Jed Stone (600 votes online)
18. Tiger 24 Brand Award – Winner (Commercial Brand supported surfing in the UK) Winner Relentless

UKPSA Trophies:
Bilbo Under 12 Open Champion 2010 – Winner: Harry De Roth (St Ives)
Groundswell Trophy for Under 16 Girls Champion 2010 – Winner: Tassy Swallow (St Ives)
Groundswell Trophy for Under 16 Boys Champion 2010 – Winner Luke Dillon (Newquay)
Groundswell Trophy for Pro Junior Champion 2010 – Winner Stuart Campbell (Woolacombe)
Pull In Trophy for Women’s Champion 2010 – Winner Gwen Spurlock (Swansea)
Pull In Trophy for Open Champion 2010- Winner Russell Winter (Newquay)
The event was a great success and rewarded surfers from across the UK for their achievements in 2010. It included images and videos highlighting the highs and lows of the year and culminated in the Relentless After Party.  The Men’s and Women’s Open trophy was once again sponsored by Pull In and the this years winners: Gwen Spurlock and Russell Winter were treated to a gift box containing Pull-In’s Limited Edition 10th anniversary cupcake style pants along with their trophies.
Russell Winter stole the honours, receiving three of the awards on the night including the prestigious UK Pro Surf Tour Open Title.